College Foodie Edition

If I had to make an assumption, I would say that most college kids budget their money weekly. They lay aside a set amount of money for the necessities: gas, food, cab fare and alcohol money.

There’s only one problem. What happens when you live in one of the top growing, food cities in America? People find themselves overwhelmed with unlimited decisions.

You might think this post is going to be about how college kids can save money, but it is far from that.

I have friends that love to eat out. Not at like a chain restaurant, but a trendy restaurant. It is be hard for me to afford the lifestyle where you are constantly eating out once every week, but, let’s be honest, even though I complain about not having money, for food and good company, I’ll burn a hole in my wallet – no problem.

If I am going to make myself broke and live off my money day-by-day, when I go out to eat with my friends, I want to make sure I am getting my moneys worth.

Listed below, in no particular order, is a list of my top three favorite restaurant/bars to go. Eating at any of these places is money well spent.

Mussel & Burger Bar: I am ecstatic to announce that I no longer have to drive out to the intersection of Taylorsville and Hurstbourne Parkway to gorge myself in their flavorful mussels and juicy burgers. Mussel & Burger Bar just opened a second location in ddowntown Louisville in place of the St. Charles Exchange.

Crescent Hill Craft House: Their diverse food and craft beer menu will hold you captive for hours. You’ll want to try one of everything at this restaurant. I highly recommend the smoked gouda cheese grits.

The POST: Hands down, this is easily the best pizza joint in Louisville. The Post is a newer pizza place in the Germantown-area. Not only are they known for their creative pizzas, but the Post is also popular for their giant individual pizza slices.

Side note: Every day they have a different pizza of the day.

Leave a comment